pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:43 pm

Dave,

Foscam tech support provided the following instructions to get MJPEG stream from this camera:

http://foscam.us/forum/how-to-fetch-sna ... t4328.html

I followed the instructions. At the last step, a file starts to download - I had to kill it after 5 minutes as I wasn't sure where that was taking me. Sent another email to Foscam support for information. We'll see...

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:44 pm

Which camera do you have? I would also be interested in this solution. Thanks!

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:30 am

Which camera do you have?
I have the Foscam - model FI9805E. This is the new "wired" model that supports H.264. As you saw Dave's suggestion, I am trying to get this to give me MJPEG stream. Got an email from Foscam tech support earlier today that the MJPEG solution only works with Chrome (I was using IE - that may be why the issue that I listed earlier). When I get home, I will try this solution using Chrome and report back.

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:11 pm

Update...

Still no luck. I followed the instructions in the Foscam link to change the stream to MJPEG.

Nothing shows up in Chrome (on my Windows 8 PC). The image shows up on my ipad (Safari), but doesn't seem to be live video. I have to manually refresh it each time to get the latest feed. Should it not be live MJPEG video feed?

So here are the steps I followed:

1. I changed the stream to MJPEG via following URL command:

http://ip address:port/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?usr=admin&pwd=&cmd=setSubStreamFormat&format=1

This gave me the following result (exactly as stated in their instructions):

<CGI_Result>
<result>0</result>
</CGI_Result>

2. I then typed the following URL:

http://ip address:port/cgi-bin/CGIStream.cgi?cmd=GetMJStream&usr=admin&pwd=xxx

in IE, Chrome and Safari to test.

Internet Explorer wants to download a file
Chrome doesn't show anything

In Safari, I got a snapshot picture at - say 11.51 AM. This picture seemed still picture, until I refreshed it - and then it updated to 11.53 AM snapshot (after about 20 seconds of reload time).

So, no luck so far.

Dave,
Is there a possibility to get the driver accept the H.264 stream from these cameras, so we don't have to fiddle around with this stuff? Not sure what else to do - short of returning these cameras and getting Axis.

Thanks

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11395
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:55 pm

I just ordered one of these cameras. It is going to take a couple of days to get here. I'm sure there will be no issue getting it working with the html web apps. Since the MainLobby Flash client is limited to Internet Explorer 6 compatibility there is a high probability that viewing a live stream may never work in the legacy MainLobby client. Only time will tell. I'll post something over the weekend once I get the camera.

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:45 pm

I just ordered one of these cameras.
I already feel better that you bought this camera :D !!!
Since the MainLobby Flash client is limited to Internet Explorer 6 compatibility there is a high probability that viewing a live stream may never work in the legacy MainLobby client.
Hmmm...that's a bummer. I still use several windows based clients, so eagerly await your assessment. Even if I can get it to work with "mjpeg and Weblobby" - that will be great.
I'll post something over the weekend once I get the camera.
Thanks...looking forward !

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11395
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:36 pm

Hmmm...that's a bummer. I still use several windows based clients, so eagerly await your assessment.
Remember even Windows clients can use the new web apps. The iPad web app scales perfectly to a Windows 4x3 aspect screen. Run Chrome is kiosk mode on these devices.

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Remember even Windows clients can use the new web apps.
Dave, how would I go about this? Can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11395
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:16 pm

Install Chrome on the Windows PC.

Install the iPad sample app on the server.

Add a short-cut to Chrome in the start up folder.

Set the Chrome command line to

"C:\Users\<<username>>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --kiosk "http://<<MLServer IP Address>>/iPad/index.html"

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3312
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 11:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:52 pm

In this forum, I wish you could hi lite certain posts as favorites or something. I am sure that I will need to refer back to this thread several dozen times. I know that you can bookmark, but would rather bookmark individual posts.
Thanks
Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11395
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:01 pm

Well I got the Foscam FI9805W today and I've spent the last couple of hours playing with it. If you plan on only using the Foscam supplied web UI for viewing images and controlling the camera then you will be ok.

If you want to use this camera with our software then you are out of luck. This camera is absolutely horrible outside of the Foscam apps.

I was able to get the camera to take individual snapshot images. However, it takes the camera well over a second to render the snapshot at 720p resolution. So while you can easily view this image in our web apps you are limited to refreshing the image at best once every 3 seconds.

Ok how about a live video feed? The native H.264 feed comes in the form of a Adobe RTSP encoded feed. So you cannot view this feed with a normal HTML 5 <video> tag. You have to use a third party plugin and that just won't work in our world.

You can set the secondary feed to output a Motion JPeg stream MJPEG. Which is essentially a continuous series of jpeg images that any modern browser can consume in a normal <img> type tag. So I configured the camera just to do that.

Yes, you can get a live feed in an <img> tag. However, the processor in the camera just doesn't have the horsepower to keep this feed running. When you first launch the page the image takes about 8 seconds before you see the first image. After that you will see the live feed but after about 20 seconds the feed starts to slow and soon gets to a crawl and after about 45 seconds the feed stops altogether. When this happens you will also see that you cannot access the camera using their own software. Now I know why they ship a reset button built into the camera.

So, these new HD cameras are totally useless in our environment. I'm hoping that I can send mine back.

The odd thing is that I also have an older Foscam 8910 camera. It is using the old processor and firmware and it works great. I continue to get a really nice mp4 stream at 30FPS out of the camera. Why Foscam engineers had to move away from and really nice industry standard stream to a proprietary Adobe format is a head scratcher.

Much more research is required here. RTSP is the most efficient protocol for live streaming. Just not supported by any browser without 3rd party support. There has to be a good solution. More later.

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:31 pm

Hello Dave,

Thank you for the feedback on this camera. In a way I feel relieved that I can now return this crappy camera (hopefully I can). I would definitely need the camera to work in the Cinemar environment, so that was that. It is a bummer - especially considering that the picture quality is really quite good on these.
The odd thing is that I also have an older Foscam 8910 camera. It is using the old processor and firmware and it works great. I continue to get a really nice mp4 stream at 30FPS out of the camera.
Since model 8910 is working well for you, do you think that the model FI8905E will work (this is the closest wired version that I found with similar specs as the 8910) - link below:

http://foscam.us/wireless-ip-cameras/fo ... amera.html

I was trying to stay away from Axis due to steep price point. But if these Foscams don't work, it may just have to be Axis.

Thanks again...

User avatar
Oronomus
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:37 am

Several times over the years I almost pulled the plug and bought Axis. But that little conservative guy on my right shoulder always whispers in my ear that the security camera industry is just moments away from releasing far better products at much, much lower prices. After all, cell phone cameras keep getting better and better. After a while, I just quit searching. Maybe this initiative by Dave will help find the best choice at a really good price.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3312
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 11:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Fri Jun 13, 2014 7:27 am

I have the 8906 with the updated firmware and it works perfectly with Cinemar. You can directly connect to it via the camera web portal. I also have the Blue iris program running on a spare machine as a camera DVR and have the cameras configured in the program. I have Cinemar connected to the Blue Iris web portal rather than directly to the cameras and it actually works better than just connecting to the camera directly as it provides more features. It will work either way.

Dave - I do think that if you run and configure Blue Iris for the HD camera that it would actually work just fine.
Thanks
Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1342
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact: Send private message

Re: What IP Cameras are you using?

Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:46 am

Thanks Dave. You have confirmed what I have seen and that the cameras are junk. The BlueIris is maybe the only option. I just started playing with it.

Return to “MLServer 4 Device Drivers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest