User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:29 pm

Ok, if you have Genie clients try the following.

Install the driver I just released.
In Family Manager modify the DTV settings like in the following image.
If the device is a Genie client then the Address and Port are the values of the master box. In the description field enter the MAC address of the remote client. When you send a command to that device the driver will pick up that it is a client because there is a MAC address in the description field and will modify the URL accordingly. Make sure you enter the MAC address as shown in the image below including the colons. It's the colons that clue the driver that the device is a remote client.

Let me know how this works out.
Attachments
DTVGenie.jpg
DTV Genie clients
DTVGenie.jpg (135.94 KiB) Viewed 659 times

User avatar
bigbrother
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:56 pm
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:30 pm

Works Great. Thanks


BB

AVDCORPNY
Expert
Expert
Posts: 599
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: 3231 lafayette ave, bronx
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Thu Nov 06, 2014 7:24 pm

New Version of driver is not working ,can't Control set box, can't change channel or any other command

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:25 pm

DirecTVIP Event logs please. Working fine here.

AVDCORPNY
Expert
Expert
Posts: 599
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: 3231 lafayette ave, bronx
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:55 pm

Will have to reinstall it to get a log ,changed back to old version

User avatar
Oronomus
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:17 am

Noticed that none of the DTV boxes are responding to commands with new DirecTV IP driver. Changed the "Description" box in Family Manager to show MAC address. The boxes all show up in the "Discovery" window on the driver, and respond to the on and off commands in the Discovery window. But the event log shows "ExecCommand DoWork - Error trying to access Device #13 Please set Devices to Allow, etc." But all devices are properly set to "Allow"
DTV 1.JPG
DTV 1.JPG (105.96 KiB) Viewed 612 times
DTV 2.JPG
DTV 2.JPG (53.22 KiB) Viewed 612 times

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:09 am

The only thing new in the driver is the Discovery tab and the devices discovered in that tab do not propagate to the real DTV devices in Family manager. The driver is working for other customers. What you will need to do is turn on logging in the DTV driver as we are only seeing error messages now. I'll need to know at what point the driver throws the error.

User avatar
Oronomus
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:13 pm

The errors are a constant scroll triggered by
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[11~GetTuned] Client=[] or
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[13~GetPower] Client=[]

The driver pings each box and reports the same error message for each, in a constant cycle. I have tried restarting MLServer several times without change. Would it be helpful if I rebooted the DTV boxes? Again, the DTV driver communicates with the boxes when I click the On and Off test commands on the Discovery page. But driver does not respond to commands fired from any other connected device, or from MLServer commands from the Quick Command or Command Builder utilities.

Network ping of one box (http://192.168.2.109:8080/tv/tune?major=242&minor=65535) returns:

{"status": {
"code": 200,
"commandResult": 0,
"msg": "OK.",
"query": "/tv/tune?major=242&minor=65535"
}}
DTV.JPG
DTV.JPG (180.57 KiB) Viewed 603 times

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:09 pm

Ok, it is trying to get the now playing information on one of the Genie boxes. Trouble is when the Genie is powered off it shuts down the network connection. So all the Genies will show as failing.

User avatar
Oronomus
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:17 pm

Dave can you please revisit this? My boxes are all older versions of the HR-20 and HR-21 series, not genies. Since the DirecTV update on 10/31 I have not been able to gain communication with these boxes. Same error message in response to GetTuned and GetPower commands, "error trying to access device" and please set external devices to Allow.." I have tried both using and not using the MAC address in the description.

Again, if I use the "Discover" function on the "Discovery" tab, all devices are discovered and respond to the Power On and Power Off buttons on that tab. Maybe for non-Genie users, go back to a previous version of the plugin?

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:14 am

Can you open a browser and access the Get_Tuned URL that is being displayed in the event log? Do you get a valid JSON response or an error? That's all the driver is attempting to do. The discovery tab is there just for diagnostic purposes the driver makes no use of the devices it finds there.

User avatar
Oronomus
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:27 am

http://192.168.2.109:8080/tv/GetTuned?c ... r=BASEMENT

returns:

{"status": {
"code": 404,
"commandResult": 1,
"msg": "Not Found.Resource not found.",
"query": "/tv/GetTuned?clientAddr=BASEMENT"
}}

An alternate query to the same box returns an OK message

http://192.168.2.109:8080/tv/tune?major=242&minor=65535

{"status": {
"code": 200,
"commandResult": 0,
"msg": "OK.",
"query": "/tv/tune?major=242&minor=65535"
}}

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:08 am

There's the clue
"/tv/GetTuned?clientAddr=BASEMENT"

Somehow you are sending BASEMENT as the Genie's address. This needs to be the MAC Address of the remote Genie box. That's why you are getting the 404 error code returned.

User avatar
Oronomus
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:37 am

The box is not a Genie. I only have legacy HR-20 and HR-21 DVR boxes.But I get the same result using MAC address:

http://192.168.2.109:8080/tv/GetTuned?c ... 0:0A:78:54

or

http://192.168.2.109:8080/tv/GetTuned?c ... 60000A7854

returns

{"status": {
"code": 404,
"commandResult": 1,
"msg": "Not Found.Resource not found.",
"query": "/tv/GetTuned?clientAddr=C860000A7854"
}}
Last edited by Oronomus on Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11334
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: DirecTV IP Driver

Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:40 am

Show me a screenshot of how you have your DTV devices defined in the Family Manager window.

Return to “MLServer 4 Device Drivers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest