User avatar
whmurdock
New Member
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:10 pm
Contact: Send private message

Trouble using the ML virtual kyepad with a Elk M1 Gold.

Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:53 pm

I am having trouble getting the virtual keypad in ML to work with my M1G. I am running ML3 and the latest ML Elk plugin. I am using the M1 ethernet port to comunicate with ML. I have updated the M1G with all of the latest Firmware including the keypad and M1XEP. I do have the M1 variables updating on the MLServer and I can arm and disarm the system using the MLServeCmd.MLELKM1|Arm~1~2~1234. I have put the MLServeCMD.MLElkM1|KPinit~1 in the virtual keypad scene startup command. But I cannot get the MLServeCMD.MLElkM1|Key~x commands to work. Please help

User avatar
davevans
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 3:36 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact: Send private message

Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:38 am

Bump!

Any update on this. I can not get it to work either

User avatar
davevans
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 3:36 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact: Send private message

Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:18 pm

Anything?

mimitche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:43 pm
Contact: Send private message

Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:33 pm

Sorry to bump such an old post but I too am having the same problem.

I use MLServeCmd.MLElkM1|KPInit~1 when I start the scene

MLServeCmd.MLElkM1|Key~1 for each key (using the proper number for each key...)

My Elk M1 is set for 4 digit user codes. Nothing ever happens when I enter the codes.

The log entries I get when loading the scene and entering 1234 are:

Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Got [Key~1]
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Got [Key~2]
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Got [Key~3]
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Got [Key~4]
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Rcvd: 26 bytes [16XK17322130104081100074]
Event: [16XK17322130104081100074]
Rcvd: Ethernet Heartbeat
End Event [4/1/2008 9:32:20 PM]
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads
Updating Virtual Keypads

-----------------------------------------

So it seems that the plug-in gets the key presses ok but nothing ever happens. Any help is appreciated.

mimitche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:43 pm
Contact: Send private message

Update

Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:35 pm

Update to the issue:

Unless I'm reading the plugin log wrong it doesn't appear that the plugin ever sends a command to the M1. After entering 4 digits I'd expect to see an entry similar to:
TCP/IP Sending [0Da010012340003F]
but I never see and TCP/IP Sending messages in the log after entering digits.


I see the same issue with the KPExit command. When issued I see:
Got [KPExit~01]
in the log but no command appears to be sent to the M1 and "Updating Virtual Keypads" continues to be logged. In contrast when issuing a KPInit command I see:
Got [KPInit~01]
Got [RFKIS~1]
TCP/IP Sending [08kc010009]
Rcvd: 29 bytes [19KC01000000000000000000017]
Event: [19KC01000000000000000000017]
Rcvd: Keypad KeyChange Data
End Event [4/1/2008 11:22:24 PM]

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11400
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:26 am

Two things. Did you notice to see if the associated ELKM1 server varaibles were being updated as you pressed the keys?

The virtual keypad is only programmed to respond to a few preset key sequences. If the panel is previously armed then pressing the four digits will send the disarm command. If you press the Bypass key you will get prompted for the zone to bypass.

What sequence of button pushes are you trying to emulate?

mimitche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:43 pm
Contact: Send private message

Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:01 am

I don't see any server variables updating when I press the keys, but I don't see any variables for the numeric keys to begin with.

I'm trying to emulate a real keyboard sitting next to an entry door; for example if the system is armed and someone enters they need to enter their code to disarm, i.e 1-2-3-4.

Thanks for your help!

mimitche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:43 pm
Contact: Send private message

Mon Apr 07, 2008 2:49 pm

Any update? Is no one else emulating an Elk keypad with ML?

Thanks,
Mike

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11528
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message Website

Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:06 pm

Post what commands you are sending, and logs from MLServer and the ELK plugin as you are sending those commands.

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11400
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:12 pm

He has done that. The command sequence to deactivate the alarm is not supported by the current emulator. An update to the plugin will be posted that supports this sequence.

mimitche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:43 pm
Contact: Send private message

Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:26 pm

An update to the plugin will be posted that supports this sequence.
That's good news; I'll keep my eyes peeled for the update.

I know that a "disarm" command can be programmed with: MLServeCmd.MLELKM1|Arm~0~1~1234 but any disarming procedure that doesn't require a code to be entered manually could allow an intruder to simply disarm the system during the entry delay.

Thanks,
Mike

User avatar
whmurdock
New Member
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:10 pm
Contact: Send private message

Updates

Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:10 pm

Any Updates or time frame?

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11400
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:14 am

As soon as I can get to it. It is sitting #5 on my list of fixes right now.

mimitche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:43 pm
Contact: Send private message

Fri May 02, 2008 12:33 pm

As soon as I can get to it. It is sitting #5 on my list of fixes right now.
Thanks Dave; looking forward to this fix so I can replace my entry door keypad with a ML driven touchscreen; I'd be happy to test the update if needed.

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 651
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact: Send private message

Fri May 09, 2008 9:25 am

Please add me to the list of testers as well.
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.

www.accessHA.com
Access Home Automation
The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

Return to “Elk Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest