User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact: Send private message

Danger Will Robinson....DANGER!

Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:28 pm

All:

Since MLHAI was moving along so nicely, I decided to move it to my production server to see how it fared with full loading with Mediacenter, DVDLobby, Lighting, etc.

What I encountered was a runtime error and server crash that pointed to the TheaterTek plugin. However, I can make the error go away my unloading MLHAI. Seems that something about the two disagrees.....

I can run TT fine on this system with all other system loading. I can run MLHAI on this system with all the other plugins....just cannot load them together.

See details and cross post and logs at:

http://www.cinemaronlineforums.com/foru ... php?t=8833 TT beta forum
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:34 pm

sorry I forgot to include versioning...


MLobby 3.0.26
MLServer 3.0.93
MLHAI 09/22
Device Mgr. 3.0.138
TT Plugin 3.1.107

Windows XP sp2
Dell Optiplex SX260
Celeron 2 ghz
Mem 2 gig
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:18 pm

Are you using the same ports for both?

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:11 pm

Com1 WGL Rain8Net for MLIrrigation Plugin
Com3 Polk XM Xrt12 and XMLobby
Com4 Xantech ZPR68 MLGenericSerial Plugin
Com5 Omni Serial Connection for MLHAI Plugin

USB to Insteon Controller

All TCP ports are factory standard for each Cinemar application.

TT and JRMC run on the Mediacenter Server (remote from MLServer)
HS runs on OTTO (remote from MLServer)

Up until today, HAI was running on MLServer_II (test server) physically separate from MLServer (production)
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:34 pm

experiment update.....

Start MLServer with MLHAI unloaded
All plugins running normal
Loaded MLHAI plugin

System running error free for now.

If I allow MLHAI to load with server startup, TT run time error returns.
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

User avatar
DavidL
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11587
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:04 pm

Try changing the TT plugin ports (both) to something else. Don't forget to also change the port in TT configuration and Autokiller configuration.

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:28 pm

will do, although I guess I don't get how changing TCP ports will make a difference ..... but I will let you know what happens.

btw.....could someone update the list of TCP ports in use across the Cinemar spectrum now?

The cheat sheet is horribly out of date and with so many additions it would be nice to have the reference.

In your "spare time" of course :wink:
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond myServer?
Is there life beyond myServer?
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact: Send private message

Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:14 pm

I have adjusted the TCP ports for Theater Tek to new unused ports.

Option 1 All plugins checked for loading.

Same runtime error on MLServer startup.
Same crash of TT if attempt to view TT setup within Device manager.
TT plugin crashes Device manager locks.
All other server functions continue.
Device manager clearing requires a server reboot or MLServer restart.

Option 2 All plugins checked for loading EXCEPT MLHAI

All systems load fine.
TT loads and runs fine.

Load MLHAI after MLserver is up and running and everything operates well.

Since MLHAI communicates via Serial and TT communicates via TCP they should not have any opportunity to interfere with each other unless within the program structure or memory usage.
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

Return to “MLHAI Beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest