Art Dustman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:22 pm
Location: NJ
Contact: Send private message

Is this not > than 0?

Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:28 pm

Why will this not fire? When I manually change the value to an integer, it fires perfect. Are we not looking at the deciamal value correctly? I have a pump getting stuck in this storm and really need to know what's going on rather than sitting in the rain.



Here is the changed variable:
rule.PNG
rule.PNG (26.63 KiB) Viewed 831 times
Attachments
valueofvar.PNG
valueofvar.PNG (101.23 KiB) Viewed 831 times

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11421
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:21 pm

The conditional test is looking for integer values. I'll change it tomorrow to accept any valid number.

Art Dustman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:22 pm
Location: NJ
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:18 pm

Would it be a safer bet to add a parameter "as int" or "as dec" or even perhaps if I challenge the condition with a decimal value it would evaluate as a decimal..

Where x is equal to "0.0" (i.e. 0 as decimal)?

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11421
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:36 pm

Actually that is not the issue. A long time ago I had changed the integer tests to real numbers and just forgot I did it. So something else is going on. I'll replicate your rule here to see what it is doing.

Art Dustman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:22 pm
Location: NJ
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:30 pm

Ok. I have it kinda working as a hack at the moment, but not like it should. I am looking for not zero to see it change; though I assume I could have said != Elvis and it would do the same. To see it reset to zero, I am looking for it to start with zero. But in this case zero != zero, and therefore it's all the sudden changed. Then I start a timer, and check in 10 seconds to see if it still starts with zero. Yucky, but I am getting alerts. :roll:

Art Dustman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:22 pm
Location: NJ
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:07 pm

Ok, putting this back on the table. My new pump draws 0.2 watts continuously and I cannot evaluate the "likeness" of zero. Dave, let me know when you get a cold drink and want to be befuddled.

User avatar
AllonisDave
Founder
Founder
Posts: 11421
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:59 pm

What does this automation rule do? Verbose event log if it doesn't do anything.

Whenever lighting_160_watts changes value
If|IsGT##{{lighting_160_watts}}##0.2##Macro|Timers|Enable~WalkupPumpTimer!SetVariable|lighting_160_activity~Active!push.walkup.pump.timer.running##

Art Dustman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 3:22 pm
Location: NJ
Contact: Send private message

Re: Is this not > than 0?

Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:54 pm

Need to play with that more. I see where you are going. I have to keep track of it differently or else it will fire for every fraction of a watt that is less than the running watts. I think I need to track a flag with it to get back to a binary state.

Return to “Automation Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest